Skip to content

Long Time Coming

November 13, 2008

Hey everyone,
So it’s been a while since I’ve posted on here, mainly because my life has been pretty crazy.  Instead of creating one long post, however, I’m going to write a couple around different themes.  This will be the one on just general knowledge.  So where to begin?

We have a new president!  Well no, but we will soon!  Barack Obama was elected president and I’m happy to say that the man I voted for came out on top.  I will say it was interesting to be at this school and be a republican voting for Barack Obama.  It is intensely liberal here, it’s more intense than being back at Waynflete and surrounded by the dems there…and that’s saying something.  Just to give you an idea of what happened when Obama won the election…here’s a youtube video of the ensuing mayhem on Ithaca College’s campus (this subsequentially was played on CNN.com and other news sites)
I would like to say congratulations to the world, while I don’t know if I buy into the idea that this is going to bring a new era for America and that Barack Obama is a savior…I will say that he is better than our current president, his administration will be better than our current administration, and it will certainly be different.  Hopefully that different will be for the better and we’ll all just have to sit back and see.

My brother Will has headed off to Beruit to work for the Daily Star as a journalist.  He headed over about a week and a half ago.  My heart goes out to him and I’m glad he’s doing well.  He’s got his apartment settled, he’s living with a nice guy, Beruit seems like a cool place…we call it a win.  You all can keep track of what he’s doing by either clickon his name in the right hand bar on my homepage…or just going to his site by clicking there.  You’ll notice that his site looks suspiciously similar to mine…that would be because he gave me the same template as he uses.  Anyways look around, he’s keeping his blog much better updated than I am so check back frequently for his news.

I am going to have a post about the theatrical things in my life, but I think I’ll give a shameless plug to Ithaca College’s production of Andrew Lippa’s Wild Party.  It’s really a phenomenal production, the show looks amazing, the cast sounds wonderful, basically it’s an overall solid production.  I can’t say I have any complaints about it, though I will say that the fight scene left something to be desired.  They run for another weekend and if you’re in the area, I highly recommend checking it out, it’s really that good.

Ithaca College’s Triple Threat Theatre opened and closed their production of Bare, which I fight choreographed.  That was also a damn good production, which is something coming from me because it’s a show I don’t like.  The cast of that was also phenomenal (largely consisting of my freshman classmates) and they pulled off one hell of a show, so kudos to them.  

My life has really begun to wind down, as you’ll see in upcoming posts, and life is falling back into normalcy, which is really quite wonderful.  I hope everything is going well for people reading this, and if you’re from Portland, I’ll be home in 9 days!

~Ned Donovan

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment